How do I rent a boat?
Figure out what type of boat you want.
Prior to Arrival
Make sure you have someone in your group that is over 18 years old, has a valid United States Driver's license, and can speak fluent English that can drive and rent the boat. ID cards and out-of-country licenses WILL NOT be accepted.
Make a reservation either online or by calling us.
Once you get your reservation check your emails for confirmation. We highly recommend you read over the confirmation email to make sure your boat, date, time, and information are correct.
Read over our rental agreement and have all drivers take the boater safety test that is in your confirmation email prior to arriving.
This will save you approximately 10-15 minutes in our office.
Look over our lake map and get a good idea of where everything is and our lake laws.
Please go over the Indiana Boaters Handbook before you come to have an idea of the boating rules and regulations.
Read over our frequently asked questions page so it can answer any questions you might have prior to your rental.
When to arrive
There is a $7 park entrance fee for Indiana residents and a $9 park entrance fee for out-of-state cars.
Arrive 20-30 minutes prior to your reservation time in order to fill out all of the paperwork so you are out on time. If you are renting at 9 am you can arrive 2o minutes prior. Any rental time after that give yourself 30 minutes. On weekends we encourage renters to arrive up to 45 minutes early. It is your responsibility to make sure you have enough time prior to your start time to find parking, unload your car, change clothes, go to the bathroom, watch our video, do paperwork, get fitted for life jackets, load up the boat, and get instructions. Arriving 10 minutes before your departure time will not allow you enough time to get out, and you will miss out on part of your rental. Once you arrive at our office please notify the office person, so they can mark the time you arrived.
Rental times are not extended for late arrivals and refunds/discounts are not given.
We have a 30 minute hold time for reservations. If you are running late you must call or text us and notify us or your reservation will be erased and you will be charged for your rental in FULL. If running late you will still be charged the full rental price of the original rental, and you will forfeit that time on the water. The boat still needs to be returned at the scheduled time.
Returning the watercraft
Once your rental time is up you will return the boat to the end of the dock for it to be filled up with fuel and checked over for damages. This will take about 10 minutes. Our crew will then park the boat for you, and you will be directed to the office to pay for any fuel, fines, or damages. You can pay with cash or credit card.
It is against the law to not pay for your fuel! If you do not pay for your fuel we will contact the Conservation Officers and the park security, and the fuel will be added to your card or you will be taken to court.
Once you arrive
We will need you to do the following once you arrive:
1. Have drivers and who is in charge come into our office. Here you will pay, give us life jacket sizes, and show us all driver's licenses of everyone driving. Your credit card and drivers license is required for paperwork so please make sure you bring it with you.
2. All drivers and people in charge will read our rental agreement, look at our slides, and take a boaters test. You can do this prior to arriving to save about 10-15 minutes of your time. If you do so make sure you have the names ready of everyone who took the test and signed. Make sure you read over the agreement! We are not responsible for the renter not actually reading it and skimming over it.
3. While the drivers are signing off everyone else in the group can start loading onto their assigned boat.
4. Employees will get you all of your life jackets and any other equipment that you rented. Please do not attempt to get life jackets, tubes, etc on your own. An employee MUST be the one to get these for you to make sure everything is correct.
5. We will have an employee go over the boat damages with you and take pictures. This attaches to the rental agreement after the renter has signed off on them.
6. Our staff will then go over safety and driving instructions and how to navigate the lake. Please make sure all drivers are there to listen! Getting life jackets and going over instructions will take approximately 10-15 minutes.
Two days prior to your rental we will authorize your deposit amount on your card. If your card fails to authorize we will call you and have you give us another card number. If you are unable to provide a valid card the rental will be forfeited.
If the boat comes back in the same condition as it left in and all gas is paid for the deposit will not be charged. Damages past your initial deposit will be your responsibility. Please keep a lookout for logs, rocks, and shallow spots. These will damage the propeller and the ladder if it is left down. We ask that you stay approximately 200 ft from shore to lessen your chances of hitting something. You will be charged a $30 service charge plus parts if an employee is required to come out to help you if the issue is not the fault of Raccoon Lake Boat Rental.
This includes running out of fuel, so please keep an eye on your gas gauge.
Please read over our fees both on our website and your confirmation email.
Will use less gas
Holds up to 13 passengers
Best if you want a lot of room
Best for small kids, older adults, and handicapped
1. Most expensive
2. Will use the most gas
3. Holds up to 8 passengers
4. Not the best if you want to bring coolers and a lot of items
5. Not as good for small kids, older adults, and handicapped
6. Tubing- Yes
7. Skiing/Wakeboarding- Yes
8. Fishing- No
1. More expensive than pontoon
2. Will use more gas
3. Holds 2 adults or 1 adult 2 kids
4. Only has a small glove box
5. Not good for small kids, older adults, or anything with physical problems or afraid of water
6. Tubing- No
7. Skiing/Wakeboarding- No
8. Fishing- No